Nativities Are For Everyone in the Family

Our first Nativity setI love nativity sets at Christmas after all, Christmas is all about the birth of our lord and nativities remind us of that. When I was pregnant with my first child I visited a friend of mine who had a lovely nativity. She said she had brought it from home and it was very unique. Because it was breakable the children were not allowed to play with it. While she spoke about where it came from and so on bringing attention to it you could see the kids just itching to touch it. I found that ridiculous! It was like dangling a carrot in front of a donkey. Christ would not want material things to create tension in the home, right?

I decided to have a nativity that was not breakable so my kids could play with it. Funny enough they were hard to find. I finally found this plastic one and I got two just in case. Years later when my daughter was born I found the wooden one. Every year I would set them up and when the kids played with them  they always seemed to play with baby Jesus with care.

Now they are older and I wouldn’t mind having a bigger more chicer one but somehow I don’t think that will happen.

Our wooden Nativity

One response to “Nativities Are For Everyone in the Family”

  1. We were always the same. Mum didn’t mind too much. She would try to get us to leave it alone, but I think after a few nicks she just didn’t care anymore. And same story with the baby Jesus. We were always careful. In fact, all the broken pieces are animals, not humans. (Maybe that’s just what we were most attracted to.)

Leave a comment